And now I’m free

In the words of this dastardly-but-brilliant robot, I’m free of exams, revision and all the stuff that came with it. He even has a celebratory fist pump, almost as if this image was made for this post (See, Iron Man and I were just meant to be friends). I have to be honest though, I kind of miss it. Please note, I in no way miss the monotonous hours of sitting in a surprisingly comfortable chair and having my knowledge put to the test (The silence, however, was golden). I miss the purpose it has given me for the past couple of months and for it to end so abruptly is rather, dare I say it, saddening.

However, all clouds do have a silver lining. As of tomorrow, I have 76 days of holiday to enjoy and up to this point the only things I have achieved are A) Finishing series 5 of The Walking Dead (A show that is horrific but arguably enthralling) and B) Locating a bunch of old Lego instruction books (with which I will probably do nothing). Exciting stuff, I know. My solution: a to-do list (upon the recommendation of my mum).

Lets begin by establishing some pre-arranged plans that that have been put in place:

  1. The National Citizen Service (NCS) – I will be going away for two 5-day periods separated by a weekend. The first of these will be spent in Poole doing outdoor pursuit and the second spent in a big country home where we learn about life skills. The only aspect of this I’m dreading is having to make conversation with new people (something I obviously don’t enjoy) and then having to share a room with them. I’m sure it’ll be okay…
  2. X-Men: Apocalypse – Along with one of my very good friends I am finally going to watch the film tomorrow. It won’t take up much of my day but at least it will get me out the house (something that may not occur a great deal in next few weeks).
  3. Prom – A week tomorrow I will be attending my Year 11 Prom. I have no doubt it will be an enjoyable experience just so long as the speech (I think) I’m giving  for my form tutor goes well and I don’t try too hard to be funny (which is obviously going to be the case).
  4. Minorca – I will be going away for a week to the delightful island of Menorca with my family. It will be a wonderful week (so long as the weather holds) where I can either celebrate success or wallow in self-pity over my GCSE results.
  5. Lego Bonanza – I have been compiling a fair number of Lego sets for the precise purpose of playing with them after exams. I hasten to add the age rating is a big lie. It’s skill level (obviously). It also gives me something other than comics to write about.

This does seem to be a large amount of stuff which I will be doing. However, it is all timed either later in the summer or only takes up a few hours. There are several other things I would like to do which can be seen below:

  1. Learn another language – It would be a good way to spend my time and would help broaden my skill set. I’m thinking of doing perhaps Dutch or German but I have yet to decide. Who knows, I might do both.
  2. Back to the Future marathon – I love Back to the Future and feel like revisiting all 3 for a glorious back-to-back viewing experience.
  3. Read Fellowship of the Ring and other books – over the past couple of months my reading of books has declined at a level that I find unacceptable . I have a pile of books to read and I intend to do so. Comics shouldn’t be the only thing I read.
  4. Sort out my Lego – I always go into this task with excitement but after the first hour I begin to regret my choices that lead up to this moment and wonder when the prison sentence will end. However, it does provide a degree of relaxation until I inevitably tread on a piece of extra sharp Lego and cry for a full 5 minutes.
  5. Go for long walks/ bicycle rides – With a long stretch of canal a brief 5 minute walk away I have an urge to take some long walks. Whether or not I gather the motivation to do so is yet to be determined.
  6. Build a big Lego Space Turtle – Not much else to be said here.
  7. Write more posts – I have plenty I could talk about and the page is looking a little empty so this feels like the most viable solution.

As is clear, I have stuff I want to do and perhaps writing them down might actually motivate me to do them. We shall have to wait and see what happens. Either way, I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

