Marvel NOW! (2016): U.S.Avengers

On the 1st of July 2016 (I’m aware it is a little weird to publish this after my previous Marvel NOW! post (Which can be found here: Marvel NOW! (2016): GLA and Champions) but the announcement of the Champions left me too excited to wait till after I published a post about this one) Marvel announced the first team title for the Marvel NOW! commencing this October (I believe): U.S.Avengers.

The line-up is as follows (from left to right): Iron Patriot, Pod, Sunspot, Squirrel Girl, Red Hulk, Captain America (Danielle Cage (Future Cap (Also the grown-up daughter of Luke Cage and Jessica Jones))) and Cannonball. It will be written by Al Ewing and illustrated by Paco Medina. I have to be honest, this series does very little for me in the way of interest but I promised to keep you all up-to-date (even if you don’t care) with the Marvel NOW! teasers.

My only real objection to the team is that none of the characters really evoke any sense of curiosity in me, mostly because I’m unfamiliar with almost all of them. The line-up itself does look pretty impressive (but no where near as impressive as Red Hulk’s moustache which is simply superb and I will not hear otherwise) and I imagine it will bring with it an interesting story but, personally, it is quite my cup of tea.

Ewing, writer of series like the New Avengers and the Ultimates, is a rather esteemed writer within the Marvel Universe but again I have had very little experience with his work. I know I shouldn’t dismiss a series based on this but I have to be selective with what series I choose to collect as I have a personally set limit (purely for storage purposes and overall cost) and I’m just not really feeling appealed by the cover or description to pick it up and give it a go. Who knows, more information may sway me and I might give it a go but at this early stage, I’m not all that fussed.

One aspect that does spark my curiosity is the name. It suggests that this team will be based in the U.S.A  (I’m aware that it is blatantly obvious (So no sarcastic “Well done Sherlock” comments please)). However, this further suggests that new teams of Avengers could exist in other countries/ continents. I don’t know about you but I would love an Avengers International team including heroes like Captain Britain or Spider India. We can only wait and see what Marvel has planned.

If you have any thoughts or questions then please leave them in the comments. I will help as best I can with any questions asked.

Leave a Reply

