Blogger Recognition Award

I must admit, this came as a bit of a surprise to me. When it popped up in the comments that Michael J Miller over at My Comic Relief had nominated me I must confess to having smiled a fair bit. His site is most definitely worth your attention. Not only does it have a lot of great comic book content, and I mean a lot of great comic book content, his latest feature, which aims to keep readers updated on what is going on in America, is a brilliant idea for keeping people informed. My Comic Relief is a real gem and is most definitely worth following.

The Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

The idea to start my very own blog was not proposed by me (Because I don’t talk too myself Never mind…) but by a brilliant friend right at the end of 2015 (New Years Eve, to be precise). Now, I didn’t actually start the blog proper till March but the idea was planted in my mind that day and it has since blossomed into something I can honestly say I’m proud to call my own. The brilliant friend mentioned above is a blogger herself and is an absolutely fantastic one at that, maintaining not one but two blogs! You can find these unique and equally excellent blogs at thinkingandinking and It’s A Genuine Opinion. I assure you, they are both well worth your time and you should most definitely start following them.

Before I begin dealing out words of wisdom, I apologise profusely in advance because I can already guarantee these are going to be super cliché.

(With hindsight, advice giving is really hard. Wait, if this proceeds the stuff below in terms of when I’ve written it, does it technically make this bracket time travel?! No? I didn’t think so either… Obviously…)

First, your posts will be far better if you write about the stuff that you are actually interested in. Tailor your site to what you like and people who share similar interests or have an interest in learning more will come, I assure you. This platform is yours so own it. Who knows, you might spark an interest in someone and that is something pretty special.

Second, be proactive in your role as the reader. It’s all well and good blogging yourself but it helps to establish an audience by reading other people’s work, liking and commenting on the stuff that you enjoy, and following sites that post stuff you like. I’ve not even been doing this for a year and the sense of belonging I feel is overwhelming. Everyone I’ve encountered on this site is friendly, welcoming and genuine so, I promise you, don’t be afraid to branch out and read what other people have on offer. Who knows, you might learn something on the way…

Apologies again, those did end up being incredibly clichéd. In all honesty, I don’t really mind. WordPress has become a rather important part of my life and I’m humbled to be in a position where I am the one sharing advice, even if it’s terrible advice, so thanks again Michael for the nomination.

I would like to nominate the following blogs for this award:

Assorted Ramblings

Gleam in Eye

life blogging, life loving

Scratchings on the Page

Thinking and Inking

All of the above are absolutely fantastic blogs which I recommend you check out immediately (What are you still doing here, go and check them out!). Finally, thank you once again Michael for the nomination (Check his blog out too, another example of great blogging!). Thank you for reading.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

