Review: Curse Words #1

(I’m obviously not procrastinating by writing this post. Procrastination spelt backwards is Noitansarcorp which makes no sense, just like your claim that I am procrastinating… Ha…)

In a rather serious break from tradition, I recently purchased a few #1s (That’s not really a break from tradition) from slightly smaller publishers (This is the break from tradition). My most expensive purchase was Curse Words #1, a comic I recommended to a friend based on the initial previews but now have in front of me. In one Word: Wow!

A brief summary. The Devil’s devil, Wizord, was sent to Earth to destroy it. However, Wizord found Earth rather nice and decided, instead, to offer his services to its citizens. He makes quite a life for himself, what with magic making settling into alien surroundings quite easy. He becomes the Earth’s champion, ending all the worlds problems with a swipe of his staff. He’s not all about the world-saving life though. He offers celebrities their hearts desire, be it a magic baseball throwing arm or to be made completely of platinum, at the cost of a varying number of sapphires (Which I believe are his source of power).

His easy-going lifestyle is cut short by the arrival of Cornwall, The super-duper creepy, sex-crazed Wizard who wields a wand resembling a certain male organ (Which I only noticed upon reviewing it), is sent to end him. They duel with magic, Cornwall just about getting the upper hand with Wizord a little weakened by a  spell cast a few moments before (Platinumising a pop star). Their battle takes them to a baseball stadium where Wizord effectively (And oh too visually) burns Cornwall to a crisp. In front of a crowd. Of adoring fans. He casts a rather drastic spell that shrinks the entire stadium down to the size of a coin to deal with the situation.

With Cornwall out of the picture, Sizzajee, Wizord’s master, sends his next disciple, Botchko: Half Boar, Half Man (A fatter, shorter Centaur if you will) to attack Wizord. Another of Sizzajee’s followers, Ruby Stitch: Sword wielding Sorceress who rocks a rather awesome red lightning bolt tattoo on her face,  who asks him to send her to destroy Wizord.

For a first issue, I couldn’t have asked for more. It provided sufficient background for me to begin to understand what is going and it also left enough questions to really spark my interest. Character development was perfect, especially considering the nature of the opening meaning that a lot had to be done alongside it. The Art complimented the issue brilliantly. All in all, a solid first issue.

If I’m honest, I have next to no problems with this issue. However, there is one. I liked it to the point where I really want to see where it is going but, unfortunately, I’m not really in a position to justify adding additional comics to my pull list (Even with the cuts I am making (More on that soon)) as my list is already quite long… Anyway, enough of the negativity, let’s get down to all the good stuff, of which there is a fair bit.

The sort-of protagonists (Not fully convinced they are a sole force for good just yet) so far are, simply, fantastic. Wizord acts in a way that one would expect someone with that sort of power to act which is to ultimately become adored by all the people whilst still having a hefty helping of good fun along the way. His 3 rules, No Cures, No Wars, No Love, are rather interesting, reminding me a bit of the Genie from Aladdin. Alongside Wizord we have his fluffy Koala companion Margaret who, what with this book having a magical theme, can obviously talk.  Though her dialogue is rather limited I can imagine Margaret proving to be an unanimously loved character by all who read this title. Some of the civilians in this book take a particular shining to Margaret (#TeamMargaret), with some taking it a little too far… I’m going to leave it at that.

Alongside great main characters, the villains intrigue me. With Cornwall taking centre stage this issue, he has definitely set the weird standard very high and I still find him uncomfortable to think about which, in my opinion, is a sign of a good villain. The others teased also strike me as ones who are going to make for excellent story and the more I talk about this issue the more I think that maybe the first arc might be worth getting (Gosh darn it…).

The final aspect that I liked was the use of magic here. As many of you know, I collect two magic-related Marvel titles which, themselves, differ in terms of how magic is approached. This third perspective is quite possibly my favourite simply because it provides for a really compelling story. Don’t get me wrong, Doctor Strange is fab but it takes a very serious perspective on magic in my opinion. Curse Words is just utter nonsense 95% of the time and I would be lying if I said that I didn’t absolutely love it.

Overall, if your looking for a part hilarious and equal part dark then I can only recommend Curse Words #1. Charles Soule shines on this title and Ryan Browne’s art accompanies the title perfectly. I, a die-hard Marvel fan, absolutely loved this issue and how different it was to the other comics I read. You are probably going to hear a bit more about this title from me in the future now, what with me being quite so weak-willed. If you have any thoughts or questions please leave them in the comments.

Note: The Pictures used are property of Image Comics and I don’t claim to owning any of them. They have been used to help illustrate my opinion of the comic.
Leave a Reply

