A Weekend in London

A couple of weeks ago, my family and I went on a weekend trip to London. The primary reason for this was because my Canadian cousin was over and it was easier for us to go to her and it also meant that we could do more tourist stuff (Don’t get me wrong, I love the area I live in. London is just better in terms of tourism. Plus, on a previous visit, she had done most of the tourist stuff around where I live whilst London was almost a untapped gold mine of tourist opportunities).

We started the day off with a boat trip down the Thames to Greenwich. On the way, one of the staff gave a casual site-by-site commentary. A Londoner himself, he had some great stories, the ones about the pirates of the Thames being particular favourites of mine. When we go to Greenwich we had lunch at a great pub called the Greenwich Tavern. We then took a stroll through Greenwich park, the sunny weather making it just sublime. We had a look around the exterior of the Royal Observatory and then made our way back down the hill, towards the National Maritime Museum. We had another wander around the buildings, scenes from Thor: The Dark World going through my mind. We then made our way back to the boat and went back into the City.

We got off at Tower Bridge and had a look around there before making our way to St Katherine’s Docks. We stopped off at yet another pub (By this point I had already drunk an excessive amount of lemonade) called the Dickens Inn, a gloriously old building with a real sense of character to it. We then made our way to the restaurant we were having dinner in.

After dinner, the real highlight of the day commenced. I’m not sure how much I’m actually allowed to disclose on this particular bit, mostly because it is one of those see-it-to-fully-appreciate-it situations, but I’ll try. My parents had managed to get us  in to the Tower of London after dark to see the Ceremony of the Keys, a rather exclusive event that requires booking several months in advance. This is where they effectively lock up the Tower of London for the night. The formal ceremony was very peculiar but equally enjoyable to watch. I can now say that I have been locked in the Tower of London, something I must confess to being quite proud of (Even if it was only for 10 minutes or so).

All-in-all, my weekend in London was very relaxed which I appreciated greatly. It was great to spend time with my cousin as, as you can imagine, face to face interaction is a little challenged with quite such a large body of water between the UK and Canada. If you have any thoughts or questions do not hesitate to post them in the comments. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

