Review: Back to the Future #1

For those who don’t know, I’m a rather big fan of the Back to the Future trilogy. So, when I discovered the first issue of the comic book adaption at my local comic book shop for just £1, I felt compelled to purchase it. I’m very glad I did.

The BTTF films are great in my opinion, no question about it. They have a wonderful charm to them that has managed to keep them enjoyable to this day. However, this comic book raised some questions that I didn’t even know I had (Well, 2 questions).

The issue is split into two stories. The first details how the infamous Doc Brown-Marty partnership began. The tale goes something like this:

  • Doctor Emmett Brown is  recounting the tale of how he came to meet Marty McFly to his family (In the year 1885). After a clash with Needles and his cronies, Marty is forced to go and steal some interocitors (I honestly don’t know what they are (Turns out, they are a fictional intelligence test created by aliens. They are used here to improve the sound of a speaker, maybe?)).
  • After finding out that they were all bought from the local music shop, he goes to the address of the customer, making short work of the locked gate (Though he does get a nasty electric shock to start with).
  • The traps just keep coming as, upon entering the house, Marty triggers an elaborate sequence that imprisons him in a net. Marty is no fool, though, and manages to release himself where he is attacked by a huge dog: Einstein!
  • Doctor Emmett Brown congratulates Marty on passing the test. He offers Marty a job and the rest, as they (rather appropriately) say, is history.

I think what makes this story so special is that it genuinely surprised me. I had no idea that I wanted to know how this dynamic duo came to be together and I’m all the more satisfied with knowing the answer.

The second tale details the Doctor’s early career:

  • Emmett is furious over being kept out of the loop on a top-secret project Caltech, the school he works in, are involved with. Apparently, the state of his apartment might give an… Interesting view of the Doctor.
  • However, despite this, the Doctor is given a chance and his apartment tells a very different story to the one painted: pristine, organised and well-kept. However, the truth comes out that it isn’t actually his apartment but his landlady’s, Mrs Gomez.
  • Doctor Emmett Brown returns home, a little crestfallen, to discover his interviewers at his home. They commend his quick thinking concerning the use of his landlady’s apartment and welcome him to the Manhattan Project!

This tale was equally very enjoyable, flashing some light on Doctor Brown’s past. Again, I didn’t realise how much I wanted to know about the past of the good Doctor. Hinting to his involvement in the Manhattan Project raises some questions and would definitely make for some interesting story telling, especially seeing where Brown’s moral compass points on the topic of nuclear weapons.

Having Bob Gale, one of the original creators of BTTF, write this comic, for me, makes it feel a little more genuine in that he, one of the creators, is expanding on his work, not someone else (if you catch my drift). He has opened my eyes to stuff that I didn’t even know I had missed and I am very grateful for it. He provides extra detail in a way that will most likely change the way I look at BTTF, and that’s just with one issue! To top it all off, he makes for one excellent comic book writer.

The work of Brent Schoonover and Dan Schoening really help to bring it to life (which I appreciate is one of the main purposes of art but hey, it doesn’t always achieve that). Schoonover takes me back to my first viewing of Back to the Future, back-to-back one Sunday afternoon aged 10 or so (I’m not too sure about my age (When I watched the films, not how old I am now. I’m not that forgetf- wait, what was I talking about? (I’m about 10% sorry…))) with a style that makes me feel like I’m watching extra content on the television. Schoening, on the other hand, provides something new for completely new story (I class the first tale as less “new”, being closer to the initial time of the film’s setting).

I was definitely surprised by this issue (I’m often a little nervous about stuff transitioning from screen to comic book). I’ve been enlightened on content I didn’t even know I wanted to know, if that makes sense. Getting a hold of a copy at a low price is a little hard (I got extremely lucky, not going to lie) so, if you are interested, it might be worth getting the graphic novels. I think its safe to say that this title will deliver some great bonus content that will help BTTF be all the more enjoyable, so a graphic novel is probably worth it.

  • Story – 9.5
  • Art – 9.5
  • Accessibility – Very Friendly – I don’t think I have to explain why…
  • Overall – 9.5

If you have any thoughts or questions, please leave them in the comments. Thank you.

(The image used is property of the artist and I, in no way, lay claim to it.)
7 thoughts on “Review: Back to the Future #1

    1. It was released on back in October 2015 (No prize for guessing why) was just rather lucky in finding it at this price. If I’m honest, I still stand by that rating. I went in expecting to be a little disappointed but the entire issue was simply delightful, fleshing out the film in a great way straight off the bat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

