Review – Spider-Man: Homecoming

(Credit goes to Mondo for the featured image)

I kicked off my summer holidays in style by going to see Spider-Man: Homecoming with my best friend. I went in almost spoiler free (A problem I have had in the past) so I had no idea what to expect from the most recent instalment in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Let’s just say I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Tom Holland captured Peter Parker and Spider-man perfectly. Maguire and Garfield were both great portrayals of the characters but I just found Holland’s take on the role hit the perfect balance. He captured Peter’s nerdier elements really well and his Spider-Man was simply sublime, quips and all.

The plot as a whole felt fresh and unique from other Marvel films. Again, a lot of that rested on Holland’s shoulders but I also think the age difference between Parker and his fellow heroes allowed for different themes to be explored. Seeing Peter struggle to find a balance in life was fantastic especially with the whole secret identity side of things being relatively untouched up to this point. I was glad to have Iron Man involved in the film but I was even happier to see that he didn’t dominate the screen. Part of me was a little worried that, as much as I love Tony Stark, he might steal the show from Peter. The other Avenger’s cameos in this film were hilarious to say the least, especially the last one.

On the villain side of things, Marvel continue to deliver stronger villains both in character and challenge, something that was lacking initially to some extent. The Vulture twist genuinely left me speechless and the following scenes were wonderfully intense. Keaton did an amazing job as Vulture and his character had really great depth to him. The smaller villains were also pretty awesome, aiding the Vulture in small but significant ways. I can’t wait to see Spider-Man’s rogue gallery explored further, especially with what was teased for future instalments.

The entire supporting cast was absolutely exceptional. They made the film that little bit more special, especially Ned and his great hats. The Michelle twist did surprise me a fair bit and I’m intrigued to see that explored further. After a bit of research, Donald Glover’s character also promises to add some absolutely amazing stuff down the line.

Almost forgot, post-credit scenes. I won’t say what they were (trying to keep this spoiler free) but stay till the end. I won’t express how I felt about it because that might give it away but just prepare for something very special right at the end of the credits.

Overall, Spider-Man: Homecoming was another excellent instalment in the MCU. If you have any thoughts or questions please feel free to leave them in the comments. Thank you.

One thought on “Review – Spider-Man: Homecoming

  1. I watched the movie last week and I felt like it was the one of the funniest Spiderman movie I’ve watched. I agree with you about Tom Holland and his portrayal of Spiderman, he did a brilliant job😊.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

