Secret Empire: June 2017 – Tie-ins

Last but not least, the tie-in issues from my ongoing series. This month we see Spider-man join the fray and things definitely aren’t looking peachy on his end. The same can be said for Doctor Strange. Life in Manhattan is getting worse by the day.

 

Amazing Spider-man #29

  • Things aren’t great for Parker Industries following recent events in Symkaria. Peter’s television interview defending his company’s actions is cut short by breaking news: The Chitauri are invading and Manhattan is under attack.
  • Peter goes to his office in London only to encounter employees loyal to Hydra. After tackling them with ease, he goes up to his office where he meets none other than Otto Octavius, Superior Doctor Octopus!
  • He offers Parker a deal: Parker Industries to save Peter’s friends. Peter doesn’t like the odds and clashes with Doc Ock. The fight is cut short when Peter has to go to Washington DC. Otto gets away and blows up the office block.
  • With Parker Industries’ reputation dragged even further down by supposed links to the dome over Manhattan, Peter is in one heck of a difficult situation. Otto, on the other hand, is just getting started.

I’ve been excited to see where Slott was going to take the Superior Doctor Octopus and he’s done a marvellous job. Though this does tie into Secret Empire it stands rather well as a continuation from previous events. Otto’s plan to bring Parker to his knees promises to be interesting and his new bag of tricks should offer fresh challenges to Spidey. I’ve always liked Doctor Octopus as a villain so his involvement in a Secret Empire tie-in is a win-win.

Whilst Otto was great, Spider-man was fantastic. This issue was full of quips that I think have been missing the past few months. I will confess to soft chuckling (Anything louder would disturb my family’s slumber) on a number of occasions, a rare sight with anything remotely related to Secret Empire. It was also great to see him get so riled up over the trouble his friends  now face. At least Aunt May is out of the fight.

Immonen continues to deliver brilliant art. He captures facial expressions so wonderfully and with all the crazy stuff going on right now, reactions are a key part of just about anything Secret Empire.

  • Story – 8/10
  • Art – 8/10
  • Overall – 8/10

 

Doctor Strange #22

  • With monsters of all shapes and sizes roaming the streets of Manhattan, Doctor Strange could really do with getting his magic back. Luckily for him, Kingpin has some connections.
  • Baron Mordo is coming under fire from Captain America over the situation in the Darkforce. Mordo goes to talk with his prisoner, Daredevil, revealing that he knows where Doctor Strange and his crew are hiding.
  • Kingpin leads the team to a rather shady sorcerer who does not take kindly to good-two-shoes heroes wanting to use magic to help people. Fighting breaks out but it is interrupted by the arrival of one of Mordo’s minions.
  • The shady sorcerer reveals their stash only for it all to be dangerous black magic. Doctor Strange tries to stop anyone touching anything but Fisk picks up a mask and blasts Mordo’s minion to pieces.

Hopeless continues to deliver an exciting tale of life inside the Darkforce. I’m only just getting over the whole alliance with Kingpin, it is terribly exciting. His connections with the magical world raises a few questions to say the least and his actual use of a magical item teases some interesting consequences (Wilson Fisk: Sorcerer Supreme (Now that would be weird)).

Much like the main event, we see another example of power struggles amongst the Hydra leadership. Mordo’s rebelliousness poses a number of challenges to Captain America and I’m curious to see how that unfolds in the next two issues. Only time will tell.

Henrichon continues to deliver stellar art work yet again. His monsters are disgustingly awesome and his style in general just works so well with the content. I’m glad that he is carrying on post Secret Empire (Even if it is only for a little bit).

  • Story – 8/10
  • Art – 9/10
  • Overall – 8.5/10

Champions is the last of my ongoing series tying into Secret Empire and that kicks off next month. This month delivered some great tie-in issues that provided great stand alone stories but also added to Secret Empire as a whole. If you have any thoughts or questions please feel free to leave them in the comments.

 

7 thoughts on “Secret Empire: June 2017 – Tie-ins

  1. I know we talk about what comics we’re buying/wanting to buy all the time but whenever I read your stuff it makes me want to check out Dr. Strange. I’ve never really followed him before but you always present the stories in a way that makes me think I’m missing out! Depending on how the Marvel Legacy stuff shakes out in the fall and what my pull list looks like afterwards, I might have to try a little Dr. Strange myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dr Strange was actually my first proper ongoing title and it set one heck of precedent moving forward. All the stuff they have put out has been brilliant.

      From what I’ve read, the first arc of Marvel Legacy is titled ‘Loki: Sorcerer Supreme’. Donny Cates is taking over as writer and he has apparently done some fab stuff over with Image (God Country being the most recent I think). I’m a bit 50/50 on Loki as a character but Cates appears to have something very intriguing planned.

      I find Doctor Strange is a great book on every front. Story, Characters, Magic, it delivers consistent enjoyment every month. Definitely worth checking out if you’re looking for something a little weirder.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am! When I was a kid, I always enjoyed spending some time in the weirder corners of the Marvel Universe (whether the cosmic stuff with the Silver Surfer, FF, or Thor or the mystical stuff with Spirits of Vengeance and Ghost Rider) but I’ve been missing it lately. I tried to find it with Guardians of the Galaxy but had to cut the title because the twice-a-month thing was getting pricey.

        Loki will be an interesting angle to pursue. I’m with you. I think my reaction to Loki has everything to do with how he’s written. Sometimes I find him fascinating, other times he’s exhausting and/or annoying.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Have you read any recent Silver Surfer stuff? I’ve been reading it in a British reprint comic and I forgot how great it was. It delivers both weird and cosmic awesomeness.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I haven’t but I’ve been considering checking it out now that I’ve been getting into Dan Slott’s work on ‘The Amazing Spider-Man.’ If I’m correct, he writes (or did write) the current Silver Surfer run too. Now you make me want to check it out even more :).

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I really wasn’t all that fussed about the character until I read the more recent stuff. Again, it stems primarily from the character aspects. It is very different to his Spider-man stuff and it goes to show how talented a writer Slott is. He co-writes with Michael Allred. If memory serves me right Laura Allred pencils and it ties it all together phenomenally.

              I’m beginning to feel like a bad influence, sorry.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment